P is for… Poetry

I like poems. I read English Literature at university, so I’ve studied a fair amount of poetry.

During my ‘A’ levels, I studied the work of a Caribbean poet called Grace Nichols; her poems fused English and Creole and were so different to anything I’d ever read before. They were so vivid. To demonstrate, here’s the opening stanza of her poem Caribbean Woman Prayer:

Wake up Lord

brush de sunflakes from yuh eye

back de sky a while Lord

and hear dis Mother-woman

on behalf of her pressure-down people.

Her work seemed so much more exotic and exciting than traditional British poetry; it spoke to me more. Pretty cool, isn’t it.

2 thoughts on “P is for… Poetry

Leave a Reply

